Seattle Surprise

After a long-ass day on Thursday, waking up at 530am to catch a flight to Spokane for a meeting and flying back that afternoon, energy levels were at a low.  I’d spoken with LA-turned-Seattle guy who’d also flown in that day.  We agreed to do a nice, low-key dinner in the area of my hotel and, well, we spent virtually every moment together from that point on.  Conversation and laughter flowed effortlessly; there were no awkward silences.  I looked at him and saw a genuinely good, kind person who’ll hold a door open until everyone’s passed through it, then resuming his rendition of Tevin Campbell’s “Can We Talk”.  OK, that didn’t exactly happen in that order, but both of those did happen over the weekend!

He’s 18-years removed from Seattle, having lived in SF and LA in that time, but is officially going to be back next week.  We discovered the city together like two tourists and it was so fun!  On Friday, we took the ferry to Bainbridge Island, walked around, had some drinks on the water and sorbets on a stroll.  That night, we went to see the Sounders play DC United.  Seattle won 1-0!!

image2

The next morning was Saturday, July 4th, and was really the only time we spent apart.  He went to support a friend’s new gym by doing an 8am workout while my ass stayed in bed and ran around Lake Union again.  I felt bad that I didn’t go with him, not only because I said I would, but also because I wanted to spend the time with him.  We met up back at the hotel (where he’d stayed with me since Thursday), had breakfast, and proceeded to take a 2-1/2 hour nap.  #thebest

For the holiday, we went out to Kirkland and I met two of his friends, a married couple, who were also incredibly cool.  I think you can tell a lot about a person by the company they keep, and this just reaffirmed how awesome he was.

After 2-1/2 complete days together, Sunday came and we had to go.  It was a quick goodbye, nothing long and drawn out.  I told him that I’d love to know what happens next in life and how this whole transition period goes, and we agreed that it’d be good to see each other again – somewhere in the world.  I went to the airport, and he went to his mother’s house.  He texted me while I was in the car, and apologized for an awkward farewell but that he hates goodbyes.

If there’s anything I feel bad about, it’s not telling him and his friends the truth about where I was going on Sunday.  They were under the impression that, and even asked if, I was going back to NYC and I didn’t deny it… even though I was flying to LA.  He’s going to be back in LA on Tuesday where he’s staying with a coworker till he makes his final move to Seattle next weekend.  I couldn’t tell him the truth because… well, I suppose I could’ve.  But I didn’t want to blow up my own spot on who I was going to be spending time with here after work hours.  confused

I do have the idea of telling him that I am here, though, when he’s here… in case somehow the timing works out, and it might.  But I don’t want to add any stress to his final push out of here since it’s down to less than five days.  I downloaded “Can We Talk” at the airport yesterday and have been listening to it since.

I went into meeting him with no expectations and was completely blown away.

Yesterday, I said good bye to one amazing man in Seattle and met up with a new one in the afternoon.  He’s sitting in my hotel room now (he did go home last night) as I write this and I should probably go.  I must once again emphasize:

image1

Leave a Reply

